Tags

,

baptism-of-Jesus

At times, it seemed as though Jesus spoke in riddles. Thus, when the Pharisee, Nicodemus asked him: “How can a man be born when he is old? Can he enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born?’

Jesus answered, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. 6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. 7 Do not marvel that I said to you, ‘You must be born again.’ 8 The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but cannot tell where it comes from and where it goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

This, we are told, is because:

God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. 17 For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved.

So, if you are born again and the spirit of God lives in you, how is anyone to know that you are not just a deluded person? It is not as though all those who make this claim agree with each other, or as though all who make it have never been charlatans? In the end the problem is the same as with what some of those born-again call ‘religion’ – as though their beliefs are something other? How do you know who to believe?

It is easy (which is why it is done so often) and I fear lazy (another reason) to counterpoint ‘religion’ with being ‘born again’. Jesus isn’t just talking about the ‘Spirit’, he also talks about ‘water’, and in concentrating on one part of what Jesus says – the SPirit – and ignoring the water, do we not run the risk of misinterpretation? The Greek, ek hudatos kai pneumatos, is a single linguistic phrase and refers to the same rebirth – not, as some claim, the initial birth and then the rebirth; water and spirit come at the same time. So there is no intrinsic reason why the traditional Christian understanding of baptism is not applicable here.

Is there any reason to suppose that in every case the new birth has to be an instantaneous act? In my own case I would credit my baptism with sowing the seed which has led me closer and closer to Jesus; indeed, without it, I do not know how I would have known him or come near to him.

But if I confess Him on my lips, but my heart is cold, what good is that? God wants us all to be saved, not condemned. We have the power to condemn ourselves, but when we condemn others, when we tell them they are bound for the lake of fire, why do that? Some say it helps others, but I have never known a single instance of it; I have known very many where such language has turned off people.

If He speaks through us, we have to be humble and ensure it really is Him, not us speaking for Him – an easy enough thing. If we are in Him, and He in us, then we shall be moved with the compassion which moved Him to die that we might live. Until I get there, I am a baby Christian making my way by faith, with thanksgiving, and, as Paul says, working our my salvation with fear and trembling.