Tags

, , , ,

20130422-222446.jpgBeing married to the spirit of the age leaves one at risk of widowerhood in the next. Liberal theologians and clergy are the heirs to the old Whig assumption that change was moving constantly in their direction; they tend to get a little alarmed, and resentful, when it appears not to be the case.

I was recently invited to a Catholic ordination service. For various reasons I couldn’t go, but I asked the person (part of our inter-church group) who invited me how it had gone. He’s not someone I know well, so I was a bit surprised when he said to me gloomily:

I fear we’re in for a generation of priests who are going to betraying to turn the clock back.  Many seminarians were receiving communion on the tongue and genuflecting all over the shop. 

He explained to me that it was all the fault of the last two Popes, who, he claimed, had been far too lax in implementing the Spirit of Vatican II, adding that he was thinking of stopping contributing to collections for new priests.  He seemed rather concerned. One priest, apparently, believed in the bodily resurrection of Christ.

I’ve always wondered if that chap ‘got it’ in terms of what some of the other churches in the group actually believe.  One of the downsides of such ecumenical groups is that they tend to attract folk upon whom the doctrines of the Faith sit lightly.  I think he was expecting me to sympathise, but he looked in vain.

I think he was seeing something I see, and which cheers me up as much as it depressed him.  When I was a lad most folk went to Church; it was expected, I’d not care to guess at the number of those who believed in the creed of their church, but they’ll be among those in the counting when we’re told how much church attendance has gone down. But the days of never mind the quality, feel the width, are over for good.  The young lads and lasses who come to church know why they do so, and it’s not an easy option in the secular culture in which they move; and those with a call to the ministry are a rare few.

Ours tend to go to the London Theological Seminary, and every time I attend a meeting with such young fellows, I feel a thrill of pride about the future. They are fine men, Christians who know why they are Christians, and who want to bring the Lord to the world. They are unafraid of the slings and arrows of the world, and they know they are choosing a way of life which will be hard; that’s part of its attraction to them.  So I was glad to hear it was so for Catholics too.

These are men who have turned aside from the spirit of this world, and they are underwhelmed by the lukewarm attitudes of some of their elders.  The Holy Spirit moves Christians, and however much some of the dinosaurs of the sixties may lament that, it is so, and the idea that future is theirs is part of their hubris. It is God’s, and to Him be the glory for the labourers who will plant and bring in the harvests of the future. Changes after changes, we’ll be back where we started from.