Tags

,

20120810-094038.jpgAs regulars will know, I have not been well this week. I suffer with chronic sinusitis, and for most of the past six days have been feeling as though my head  would like to explode; all very ‘lowering’ as my grandmother used to say. Reading the kind comments made by so many of you had precisely the opposite effect.

The same is true as I read what Geoffrey Struans, SF, Neo and others have been writing here this week. For all lovely Neo’s comments about me, I don’t have the experience or the wisdom which they have. They almost embody what this place was about when I started it just over a year ago.

In an entirely non-syncretist spirit, I nonetheless felt that on the Internet there were many places where Christians could advertise their differences and where they could smite atheists in what were, ultimately, fora which doubled as a sort of Coliseum/circus. SF and Chalcedon are Catholic converts, David Monier-Williams a life-long Catholic, Struans, Malcolm and myself Anglicans, Neo a Lutheran, and Geoffrey a Baptist and Bosco an evangelical Christian from California; that covers a wide spectrum, and with the addition of those of you who are kind enough to comment, an even wider one. And yet here, we are able to discuss Christianity in a way which throws more light than heat on what we discuss.

JP, it was, I think, who told Geoffrey this was not an educational place. I beg to differ. I have found it a very educative one – not least in the dialogues and the comboxes.  Can I confess that I was never very sure about atonement – that I understood it, that is? The same was the case with predestination and the idea of salvation. I understood what I understood by them, and what I had been able to read and to listen to, but thanks to the discussions here I feel I have a much better appreciation. I hope others do too.

I still feel a little groggy, but a lot better than I did when I went into hospital. The scans appear, despite allegations to the contrary, to reveal that there is a brain there, and that whatever may be wrong with it, it is nothing that a scan can reveal 🙂  It seems that there was a bacterial infection which was causing the problems, but it appears to have responded to the antibiotics; once the rest of my system stops protesting about the antibiotics, I should be back to normal – so no hope of improvement then.

My thanks to all the regulars for your support – it is much appreciated. A special word of thanks to Chalcedon for looking after me so well, and to Geoffrey, for looking after the blog so well.