Tags

,

pilgrims-progress-18As those of you who have been following my recent posts will realise, we have in our midst a phenomenon not uncommon  a convert to the Catholic Church who, in the zeal of his conversion, seems to think that those who have failed to follow him are in mortal peril of their souls.

Well, I’ve news for this former atheist; he’s not the first to have such an opinion. Now I shall leave it to another, more mature convert, C451, to say something about what his church actually teaches, but it is my understanding that it most emphatically does not teach that only Catholics can go to heaven, or that all Baptists are bound for a hot place in the afterlife.

I simply refuse to disfigure Jessica’s blog with a polemic against a church she and I admire, and which does so much good, and bears such a witness. What I will maintain is that those who misrepresent it as saying all non-Catholics are ‘stuffed’ are suffering from ‘convertitis’, a well-known disease in which the sufferer imagines himself (rarely herself) to be better able than the Pope to pronounce on Catholic teaching.

The plain fact is that there’s not a church older than a few moments which does not have somewhere in it record something for which it needs to apologise; the church of perfected saints does not exist this side of the next world. We’re a bunch of sinners and we stand in need of what we got through the Grace of the Lord God of hosts.

There’s a level, and it is here, at which if some under-educated and over-enthusiastic convert wishes to demonstrate the crassness of his understanding of Christianity, that’s of no matter; I enjoy a good on-line scrap, and ask no quarter, neither do I give any. But.

But there is a level at which it is a terrible thing that the God of love is used to preach a message of exclusion. As any visitor to my own neglected blog knows, in my hot youth I was associated with Presbyterian movements in parts of the UK which took their belief that all Catholics were heathens in disguise (imagine Bosco with a Belfast accent) way beyond an internet scrap; their Catholic counterparts did the same.

When you’ve seen fists and Molotov cocktails fly in the name of the God of love, it does one of two things to you. You either become more entrenched in your view that you have to deal with the other lot firmly, or you realise where you’re going before the signs saying ‘to hell’ get too frequent.

I’ve seen Catholics tell me I’m going to hell before they tried to speed the process up, and I’ve seen Protestants do the same. Well, call me a sentimentalist and lacking in rigour, but if that is where you think your Christian faith is taking you, then you are wrong – it is where Satan is taking you.

The Gospel message is simple enough. It is there in the beatitudes and the command to love your neighbour and to love God and to follow Christ. Trying doing that and you’ve your work cut out. You could try wading through a couple of thousand pages of rules and regulations, but you know what, that what it amounts to.